top of page

My first Speckled Yellow Moth!

A brief blog about a sighting I had this weekend, albeit not a particularly rare moth to see yet something I was really pleased with; my first Yellow Speckled Moth. Walking over Mottistone took me through a segment of woodland that was alive with these little beauties. They were all very skittish and most reluctant for me to get a decent photograph. However, with perserverence I managed to fire off a few that I was happy with. They are quite small and did not seem so keen on daylight, resting in the shade, or at least that was my experience yesterday (contradictory to what books say about them as day fliers...). It might not be the most exciting sighting; however, it cheered me up nonetheless.


"A small yellow moth, speckled with brown blotches. Often found near wood sage, white dead-nettle, yellow archangel and woundwort. Inhabits open woodland and bushy grassland."

"The colouration of this moth may vary slightly in the number and extent of the brown blotches on the wings but it remains easily recognisable from other species. Flies frequently during the day, especially in sunshine."

Extract from Butterfly Conservation, accessed 7th June 2015:


Nature Blogs

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page